India celebrates its Independence Day with fervor. As part of the 'Har Ghar Tiranga' scheme launched by the government, people have also decorated their houses with the tricolor to double their happiness.

However, in the middle of the celebrations, we face a maths question like every year. Which is Independence Day, right?

This year marks the 75th anniversary of India’s independence from British rule, which has added to the confusion, as people wonder whether this year’s Independence Day the 75th or the 76th?

So here’s the solution: after more than 200 years of British dominance, India gained its long-fought independence on August 15, 1947.

This means that India celebrated its first year of independence on August 15, 1948, then again ten years later on August 15, 1957, then again twenty years later in 1967, and finally seventy years later in 2017.

As a result, India will mark 75 years of independence from British rule in 2022.

However, if the number of Independence Days celebrated in India since August 15, 1947, which is considered the first, is added up, the total will be 76. This is why we are celebrating our 76th Independence Day, 75 years have passed since we achieved freedom from British rule in India.

So it can be said that India is celebrating the 75th anniversary of its independence with the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav campaign. But it's still the 76th Independence Day.

As part of the Mahotsav or grand celebration, many activities and campaigns are organized for 75 weeks to celebrate independence and the glorious history of the Indian people, culture and achievements. The journey of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsava began on 12th March 2021 and the countdown of 75 weeks to our 75th Independence Anniversary began.